How I Got Three Mix And Match Outfits for UNDER $20

I love getting a good deal. It’s kind of an obsession of mine these days because I don’t have a ton of cash to throw around because BILLS.
Most of my clothes were gifted to me by my friends, who would pack up their old clothes that they no longer wanted and then deliver them to my doorstep.
It’s kind of like having Christmas happen in the middle of July.

But I’m not here to talk about that, because not everyone is going to have friends who do that for them on a fairly regular basis, so that doesn’t count.

I’m talking about thrift shopping.

Image result for thrift shop
Actual footage of me running around in a thrift shop….

I know, it may seem gross to think about digging through racks of used clothing, but I’ve hit the point (and maturity level) to realize that I’m saving money, and clothes can be washed, and rewashed, and washed a third time if I’m too skeeved out by the idea of wearing used clothes. I’m kind of past that feeling at this point if we’re being honest. I wash the clothing once and that’s it–they’re good to go.

 

Value Village is where I like to shop.
Their jeans usually run between $5-$12, tee shirts run between $2-$8, workout pants and leggings are priced around $5-$9, regular tops and blouses run around $5-$10, tanks tops are pretty cheap at $2-$5, and cardigans and sweaters between $8-$12.
Those are great prices, period.
But I take it a step further, and stalk their Facebook site and wait for word about their holiday 50% off sales. That’s when I like to strike….wow…that came out sounding really, really villainous. Image result for stitch evil laugh

I went to their Presidents Day 50% off sale last Monday. The Value Village I go to is right across from an Air Force Base, so Presidents Day sales are encouraged in that neck of the woods.
I got two pairs of leggings for $3 each (one brown pair, and one dark denim colored pair), and a pair of jeans for $3.50.
I really went in JUST for the new pants, because I’ve recently lost some weight and almost none of my pants fit me anymore. Plus, I wanted some nice ones for work. But I didn’t stop with the pants. I kept wandering the aisles of the store.
And then came the shirts….
I wanted to get three shirts to match all three pairs of pants that I had.
Mix and match practicality at it’s finest.
So I got three shirts.
Coral and stripes seemed to be the running theme with the tops that I was picking out.
I got one coral tunic from Gap.


One coral and white striped top from H&M.
And one black and white striped top from Abercrombie and Fitch.
(The tops that I picked out go to show you that not all the clothes in a thrift shop are frumpy old lady clothes.)

When I went to the checkout, my final total was $13 and some change.
The cheapest pair of leggings that I bought wouldn’t have even been $13 had I bought them new.
That was a “START THE CAR” kind of moment for me.

Image result for IKEA Start the Car Meme

I was thrilled.
I still am thrilled, should the truth be told.

So now I have three outfits that I can switch the pieces around to create a number of new outfits. I am loving this. These clothes are exactly my style, and they were cheap!
Value Village has a free rewards program that you can sign up for too, where you can get discounts over time or on special days if you use your rewards card. I would recommend that for frequent shoppers. I’m not a huge shopper at this point, but maybe I will get their card if I start going there more often!
There’s really no shame in thrift shopping, and I’ll write a follow-up post with my top shopping tips for what to look for when you are thrifting!

Until Next Time
Peace, Love, and Glitter
❤ XOXO ❤

Leave a Reply

