My Acrylic Nails. First Set, First Attempt.

Dear readers, as you all know, I love having fake nails.
My real nails refuse to grow so I have been wearing
fake nails for years.
I recently decided to learn to do acrylic nails for two reasons.
First of all, glue on fake nails are rather thin, so they bend and crack very easily and are always popping off and that is just an irritant for me.
I ain’t got time for all that.
Secondly, I have always wanted to learn to do acrylic nails.
It’s an acquired skill that I have wanted to learn for several years now.
I now know how to do acrylic nails.
(Round of applause!)

Let’s get into my nails and what I used to create them.

I got the Kiss Acrylic Nail Set at Walmart for $7.89.
I also got a 4 ounce bottle of 100% acetone to use as a dehydrator.

First thing that I’d like to say is that this kit may look small and insignificant, but it really is a great kit. I think that I have enough acrylic liquid and acrylic powder
to do my nails at least 4 times.
There are not enough tips included in this kit, but thankfully nail tips are
really cheap so it isn’t that big of a deal.

Below are photos of the items that came in the set, except for the acetone.
I picked that up separately for 79 cents.wpid-wp-1446486737513.jpeg

wpid-wp-1446486767946.jpeg

wpid-wp-1446486777866.jpeg

wpid-wp-1446486789735.jpeg

I originally left my nails with the french tips, but the top coat of nail polish that I put over the nails was old, and left the pure white tips with a weird yellow tint, so I simply covered up the nails with red polish, gold polish
and some orange glitter on a
couple of the nails for a fall inspired manicure.wpid-wp-1446486828950.jpeg

I really had to trim down the tips of the nails to get them
to the length that I wanted.
I think that if I keep doing acrylics, I will invest in one of those fancy nail clippers for nail tips…That would cut off about 20 minutes of the process.

If you are interested in doing acrylics on your own, please study up!
I have been researching the process for about a year and a half now.
Also remember, PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT!
And a final thing I’d like to point out….please do your nails in a
well ventilated room.
I cannot stress this enough. The liquid acrylic smells SO BAD.
It could drop a horse…I’m not even joking.
I was not prepared for how awful the liquid acrylic smells.
I work in a hair salon and I can safely say that the smell of ammonia from hair dye is NOTHING in comparison to the liquid acrylic.

I was really pleased with this kit, and will be repurchasing it when I run out!
I am also happy that I am saving myself at least $20 by doing my acrylics myself, rather than going to a salon.

If you have tried out this kit, let me know what you think of it!
Also, if you aren’t following my blog, please take a second to click that FOLLOW button at the top of this page!

Thanks so much!

Until Next Time
Peace, Love, and Glitter!
❤ XOXO ❤

Leave a Reply

