Interview With Devin Maryn Clothing Designer

Hey all,
So today’s post is very exciting to me, because it is the first time that I’ve ever interviewed a clothing designer!
So I’m sure you all know that I live in Maryland, near Annapolis, and I tend to frequent small downtown Annapolis boutiques. On my most recent excursion, I came across a line of yoga pants and running shorts from a company called Devon Maryn.

image

I was in love with these clothes as soon as I saw them because they weren’t your run of the mill athletic wear–they had bright, coastal, preppy designs!
I found out that the designer lives in Maryland, so I contacted her, hoping to do an interview with her, and she agreed! Needless to say, I was so happy, and I’d like to thank her for taking the time to answer my questions so fully!
So without further ado, lets get into the questions.

                     – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

~How long has your business been in operation?

We’ve been selling clothing since September ’14, but I was working on designing and launching the business for about a year before that.

~Is there a story behind your brand?

I’ve always been fascinated by the fashion industry and wanted to do something fashion-related.  I had a couple of jobs in high school and college that were in that industry, so I had a baseline understanding of what I was getting into.  When I decided I was ready for a new professional challenge, I just couldn’t shake the idea of starting my own brand.  I knew it would be fun, creative, and difficult, and it has definitely been all of those things!

~What made you decide to focus specifically on athletic wear?

I didn’t necessarily have a dream of designing activewear in particular, but more to get into the fashion industry in general.  There is A LOT of choice out there for women when it comes to apparel, and I wanted to find a niche that wasn’t served.  For me, I had my “aha” moment when I could not find the type of workout clothing that fit my personality.  I love bright colors, colorful prints, clothes that have “energy” and make me happy!  The activewear category was full of super boring black yoga pants, solid colors, just a sea of sameness.  I thought preppy, All-American, more sophisticated activewear just didn’t exist, so I decided to create something that I would be excited to work out in.

image

~What do you like about designing clothes?

It’s an interesting field to learn about, as there are so many nuances and details to fit, function, etc. that you learn about.  It’s also challenging to design clothing that work for the majority of women – every woman’s body is incredibly different!  But to see a product go from an idea or sketch on paper to an actual finished product is an insanely gratifying experience.

~Has living in Annapolis inspired the preppy side to your clothing line?

I’d say living in Annapolis as well as growing up in California heavily influenced the designs.  I grew up at the beach in a place that’s all about easy, comfortable, casual clothing – year-round flip flops!  Moving to Maryland gave me another sense of that really traditional “preppy” clothing that’s very all-American and specific to the East Coast.  I try to represent both perspectives in the items I design.

~What is your favorite piece from the line?

It’s so hard to pick because I really love them all, but I’d have to say the lobster print yoga pants and the anchor shorts.  The anchor shorts were the very first item I designed, and they turned out exactly as I envisioned.

image

image

~Do you have any advice to anyone who is trying to start up their own clothing line?

Just do it!!  There is no perfect idea, perfect time, perfect product, perfect team.  You’ll never have all the money you need, or all the confidence you think you need.  The most important thing is to pick an idea that you believe has merit, and pursue it with everything you have.  Do some research to see if your idea has potential, if you can fill a “hole” in the market, and provide a unique take on a product. You need to have an attitude of constant learning, and embrace the idea that you won’t be great at everything (and to outsource those things!)  You will make mistakes, and you need to be comfortable with that.  I firmly believe that entrepreneurship is about 90% hard work and 10% right product/right timing.  Put in the effort, and you’ll learn what works, what doesn’t, and how to pivot to make your idea a success and grow your business.

~Where can people find the clothing line?

You can find it on our website, http://www.devonmaryn.com, as well as a variety of online retailers like Amazon and Country Club Prep, you can see our updated list of retail stores where we’re carried here:

http://www.devonmaryn.com/pages/where-to-buy.  If you’d like to see us at a store in your area, drop us a line and let us know where!

***(A note from Anna, you’ll have to copy and paste the links, because I used my tablet to put this post up and couldn’t figure out how to insert working links!)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

So there you have it! That wraps up my first ever interview! I hope you all enjoyed it, and I hope you’ll go check out Devon’s clothing line. I know I am dying to get a pair of yoga pants from her collection (and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for tops in the future.)

By the way, I love the houndstooth print yoga pants, and the pink bow print yoga pants as well.

image

image

It’s all so cute! Well thanks for checking this out!
Until next time!
Peace, love, and glitter!
< 3 XOXO < 3

Leave a Reply

